The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (NCWHA) require employers to pay their workers no less than minimum wage. Employers are to pay their employees overtime for all hours worked over 40 hours.
North Carolina state wage laws hold North Carolina employers to similar minimum standards of fair pay for fair work. However, state laws also require that workers must be correctly classified and be paid for every hour worked.
The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act governs North
Carolina employers’ state wage and hour obligations, including:
- Minimum Wage
- Overtime Payments
- Wage Payments
- Payments of promised wages & benefits
- Youth Employment
- Record Keeping
The NCWHA governs all North Carolina employers.
Under North Carolina law, an employee represented by an attorney in an unpaid wages lawsuit may be able to recover reasonable attorneys’ fees, court costs, and interest.
The North Carolina Wage and Hour Act regulates the payment of wages. An employer who fails to pay wages can subsequently be held liable to the employee for double the amount owed and attorney’s fees. Therefore, if an employer owes an employee $15,000 in wages, a judge can award the employee $30,000.
In addition, because bonuses are wages under the NCWHA, a prevailing plaintiff is eligible for twice the amount of unpaid wages.
Employee Rights Attorneys
Maginnis Howard has successfully represented workers in an extensive range of industries throughout North Carolina. Our firm has handled cases in a range of wage and hour issues, including unpaid wages and overtime issues.
Our attorneys would love the opportunity to assist you in obtaining fair compensation. Most importantly, our firm accepts these cases on a contingency basis, meaning you don’t owe us anything unless we win.
If you have any questions regarding this blog, please contact us by phone at (919) 526-0405, or email (email@example.com). Maginnis Howard provides free consultations for employee rights cases.